Derivatives Update: Key EU and U.S. Considerations

Thursday, July 11, 2019
Webinar

Overview

2019 has been a busy year from a derivatives perspective. Brexit dominated European headlines, whilst in the U.S. there have been concerns around the status of the CFTC during the government shut down and forthcoming leadership changes. More than ten years after the pivotal 2008 G20 summit in Pittsburgh, which prompted both EMIR and the Dodd-Frank Act, focus on both sides of the Atlantic has also been on reviewing this regulation and moving forward with change. Those reviews have not stalled the initial margin phase-in, and for those entities caught by the September 2019 and September 2010 deadlines, initial margin represents a significant undertaking.

This webinar, co-hosted by our teams based in London, New York and Washington, D.C., will be a general discussion of the year’s derivatives developments so far as well as our views on the year ahead, including:

  • Key U.S. and EU regulatory developments for derivatives.
  • Brexit considerations.
  • The EMIR review changes.
  • SFTR reporting.
  • A general update on key CFTC and CPO/CTA issues including the recent CFTC Enforcement Advisory on the FCPA and CPO and CTA Rule Proposal.
  • Benchmarks and derivatives – LIBOR.
  • Trends in derivatives.

Timings

12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. (EDT)

5:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. (BST)

6:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m. (CET)

This event will be simulcast as a webinar via ON24.