An Introduction to SIAC: A Global Arbitration Institution

Monday, October 26, 2020
Webinar | 9:00 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. EDT | 1:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. GMT | 2:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. CET

As a premier global arbitral institution, the Singapore International Arbitration Centre (SIAC) handles one of the world’s largest international administered caseloads. In line with the steady growth in caseload in recent years, SIAC is administering increasingly complex, high value disputes involving companies, businesses and investors from civil and common law systems. In 2019 alone, SIAC received cases from parties from 59 jurisdictions across six continents. These parties are attracted by the innovative SIAC Rules and the efficient SIAC Secretariat, as well as the advantages of Singapore as a hub for international arbitration. This webinar will explore some of the key features of SIAC arbitration for novices and experts alike.

Topics to be covered will include:

  • Connections and points of difference between the SIAC Rules and those of comparable institutions;
  • Key procedural innovations in the SIAC Rules;
  • Mechanisms in the SIAC Rules that allow for the time- and cost-efficient resolution of disputes;
  • The SIAC Investment Arbitration Rules, which are specifically tailored to investor-State disputes; and
  • The key features of Singapore as a hub for international arbitration.

The Dechert speakers will be joined by Gary Born, President of SIAC Court of Arbitration and Kevin Nash, Deputy Registrar & Centre Director at SIAC. 

For queries relating to this event, please contact Abby Cook.