EU Imposes Further Sanctions on Ukrainian Separatists

December 01, 2014

On 29 November 2014, the European Union (EU) published measures targeting additional individuals and organisations to be added to the scope of EU sanctions measures against Russia. These measures widen the EU sanctions in respect of the current situation in Ukraine, originally imposed on 17 March 2014.

On 29 November, Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 1270/2014 (“the Amending Regulation”) was published in the Official Journal of the European Union (O.J. 29.11.2014 L344/5) by the Council of the European Union.

The Amending Regulation amended Annex I to Council Regulation 269/2014, with immediate effect. The new measures target 13 individuals and 5 organisations said to be Ukrainian separatists involved in the disputed elections in eastern Ukraine, “in view of the continued gravity of the situation on the ground in Ukraine”. These persons are now subject the EU asset freezing restrictions and travel ban. The new EU measures mean that there are now 132 people and 28 entities on the EU’s Russia sanctions list.

Read "EU Imposes Further Sanctions on Ukrainian Separatists"