Hong Kong’s New Limited Partnership Fund Regime

Wednesday, August 26, 2020
5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. HKT | 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. CEST | 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. BST

On 9 July 2020, Hong Kong’s legislature passed the Limited Partnership Fund Bill to establish a regime for limited partnership funds ("LPF"), which will come into operation on 31 August 2020. Together with the anticipated tax concession for carried interest, the new regime is a key milestone towards building the city’s position as a private equity hub in Asia.

How can Asian and global fund managers benefit from the new structure? What opportunities does the new regime present to the industry? During this interactive panel, industry experts will come together and discuss:

  • Key features of the new LPF vehicle and jurisdictional comparison
  • Hong Kong tax implications (including the latest updates on the tax concession for carried interest)
  • SFC licensing implications
  • Practical and legal issues and considerations for GPs and LPs

Speakers:

  • Michael Wong, Partner, Financial Services and Investment Management, Dechert
  • Natalie Siu (moderator), Senior Director, FTI Consulting
  • Darren Bowdern, Partner and Head of Alternative Investments, KPMG China
  • Anson Law, Market Development Division, Hong Kong Monetary Authority
  • Vincent Ng, Partner, Atlantic-Pacific Capital

We plan to hold this event as a webinar but if circumstances allow we hope to welcome some of you in person.

If you have any queries related to this event, please contact Fiona Huang.